Unijos Promotes over 150 to Professorial Rank








One Hundred and Fifty-Eight (158) Academic Staff of the University of Jos have been promoted to the Professorial rank in different Academic Disciplines. These include Seventy (70) Readers to the rank of Professor and Eighty-Eight (88) Senior Lecturers to the rank of Reader.

This was the outcome of the University’s recent promotion exercise as recommended by its Appointment and Promotions Committee (Senior Staff) chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Tanko Ishaya and approved by the University’s Governing Council. The Committee’s recommendations were made following its consideration of the positive External Assessment Reports it received on the affected Staff for the Appraisal Years under review.

Those promoted to the rank of Professor whose appointments took effect from 1st October, 2020 include Dr. Patricia Ocheiminun Odumosu from the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry; Dr. Akinremi Ihouma Ibukun, Linguistics and Nigerian Languages; Dr. Nguvugher Chentu Dauda, Religion and Philosophy; Dr. Muhammad Sani Adam Modibbo, Religion and Philosophy; Dr. Aremu Yunusa, Foreign Languages; Dr. Shittu Huud, Religion and Philosophy; Dr. Joel Barde, International Law; Dr. Umejiaku Rose Ifeoma, Economics; Dr. Goshit Gideon Gokum, Economics; Dr. Ogba Likita Jamilu, Economics; Dr. Dokotri John, General and Applied Psychology; Dr. Karuri Gloria Samuel, General and Applied Psychology; Dr. Adakai Filicus Amayah, Political Science; Dr. Edward Makdet Dachalson, General and Applied Psychology; Dr. Jimba Daku Noah, Educational Foundations and Dr. Owajaiye Sunday Oni, Physical and Health Education.

Others are Dr. Kajang Yakubu Gorah, Department of Physical and Health Education; Dr. Keswet Larai, Science and Tech. Education; Dr. Abifarin Michael Segun, Science and Technology Education; Dr. Ndam Joel Nimyel, Mathematics; Dr. Audu Bala Sambo, Zoology; Dr. Lohdip Amina Mika, Chemistry; Dr. Luka Domkat Carrol, Biochemistry; Dr. Pam Victor Chung, Obstetrics and Gynaecology; Dr. Ekwempu Chinedu Chika, Obstetrics and Gynaecology; Dr. Karshima Jonathan Abina, Obstetrics and Gynaecology; Dr. Chingle Moses Peter, Community Medicine; Dr. Envuladu Esther Awazzi, Community Medicine; Dr. Lar Luret Albert, Community Medicine; Dr. Yilgwan Christopher, Paediatrics; Dr. Ebonyi Augustine Odo, Paediatrics; Dr. John Collins, Paediatrics; and Dr. Ige Olukemi Omowumi, Paediatrics as well as Dr. Ejeliogu Emeka Uba also of the Department of Paediatrics.  

Similary, among those promoted were Dr. Ani Charles Chibunna, Department of Radiology; Dr. Embu Henry Yammoh, Anaesthetics; Dr. Isichei Wakili Mercy, Surgery; Dr. Akhiwu Benjamin, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery; Dr. Sheyin Zakka, Medical Laboratory Science; Dr. Adeogbo Dorcas Omolola, Building; Dr. Dakas Audu Isa Ibrahim, Building and Dr. Datiri Yohanna Chumang, Fine and Applied Arts.

Meantime, the newly promoted Professors whose appointments took effect from 1st October, 2021 are Dr. Longpoe William of the Department of Private Law; Dr. Umaru-Oki Emmanuel, Department of Business Administration; Dr. Goyit Meshach Gomam, Business Administration; Dr. Dabwor Tongnam Dalis, Economics; Dr. Best Kachollom Comfort Shedrack, Sociology; Dr. Lawal Victoria, Social Science Education; Dr. Akanbi Eti-Mbuk Stella, Physics; Dr. Egbere John Otumala, Microbiology; Dr. Kumleng Geoffrey Micah, Mathematics; Dr. Dami Filibus Danjuma, Zoology; Dr. Ukwu Chukwuneneye, Mathematics and Dr. Jaryum Kiri Hashimu, Biochemistry.

Others promoted to the rank of Professor are Dr. Dabak Jonathan Dingkwoet, Biochemistry; Dr. Sabo Ahmed Mohammed, Human Physiology; Dr. Daboer Jonathan Chi, Community Medicine; Dr. Agbo Hadiza Abigail, Community Medicine; Dr. Miner Chungdung Asabe, Community Medicine; Dr. Afoloranmi Tolupe Olumide, Community Medicine; Dr. Toma Bose Ozoiza, Paediatrics and Dr. Akpayak Idorenyin Cletus, Surgery.

Also promoted were Dr. Ofoha Chimaobi Gideon of the Department of Surgery; Dr. Suwa Goden Goar, Psychiatry; Dr. Oyebode Tinuade Abimbola, Obstetrics and Gynaecology; Dr. Amupitan Idumagbodi, Orthopedics and Trauma; Dr. Ode Michael Bundepuun, Orthopedics and Trauma; Dr. Dugeri Terzungwe Timothy, Estate Management; Dr. Allu-Kangkum Evelyn Lami Ashelo, Architecture and Dr. Binbol Nankap Latur, Geography and Planning.

Similarly, the University’s Appointments and Promotion Committee (Senior Staff) has approved the appointment of Sixty (60) Academic Staff from the rank of Senior Lecturer to Reader (Associate Professor) in the University with effect from 1st October, 2020. Twenty-Eight (28) others were promoted with effect from 1st October, 2021.



Abdullahi Abdullahi

Deputy Registrar, Information and Publications