Staff Training and Development Division

In 1990, the Federal Government set up the Longe Commission which recommended the establishment of a board on Staff Training and Development in the Universities. This provided a broad policy and agenda formulation and implementation of Human Resource Development (HRD) programmes in the University system.

In compliance with the Federal Government's policy directives on Human Resource Development and the quest by the University of Jos Management to provide a formidable, all-embracing and focused approach to issues of Human Resource Development, the Secretariat of Academic Policy Research and Publication Committee (APR & PC) which was housed in the Senior Staff Establishment was upgraded to Staff Training and Development Division in 2001. Since then, the process of skill upgrading and capacity building through academic training, conferences, seminars and workshops has received due attention.

The Staff Training and Development Division had to continue with the functions of APR &PC in terms of Training leave, Study Leave, Research Leave, Special Leave, Sabbatical Leave, Seminars, Workshop and Conferences. The implementation of these programmes is done in accordance with Sections 45-51 of the Regulation Governing the Condition of Service of Senior Staff.

The sponsorships of Training leave, Study Leave, Post-Doctorate Fellowship, Research leave, Special Leave, Conferences, Seminars and Workshops are done by the University of Jos and Tetfund Intervention. The Tetfund Intervention takes care of overseas programmes (internationally) while University handles those that are Locally Organised. The Tetfund has graciously extended its sponsorship to academic training programmes that are studied within Nigeria in its 2016/2017 Intervention.


Click Below for Regulations


 Staff Division

  • Mr. Ishaya Daben      -           Deputy Registrar
  • Mr. B.B. Randong      -           Chief Executive Officer
  • Mr. Aman Habila        -           Assistant Registrar
  • Mrs. Kyesjel Sha        -           Principal Executive Officer
  • Mr. John Ede              
  • Mr. Patrick Dutse        
  • Mr. Yakubu Igyem      


  • Mrs. Hadiza Dabit
  • Mr. Monday Akwu

Office Assistant

  • Mr Chuwang Gyang