University of Jos - News

Senate of the University of Jos has selected four (4) of its Members to
represent it at the 13th Governing Council of the University in line with the
University’s statutory provisions.
At end of the exercise, Vice-Chancellor/Chairman to Senate, Professor
Sebastian Seddi Maimako praised the Senate Members for fully
participating and making the election process a success. He
congratulated the members who emerged and asked them to always
remember the reason they were elected to serve. He encouraged them to
serve diligently despite any challenges they would encounter and pledged
the Administration’s support to the newly inaugurated Governing Council.
Earlier, at the commencement of the exercise, Secretary to Senate and
Registrar of the University, Mr Monday Danjem read out the University
act, Section 5 Sub-section 8 which stipulates that four (4) Members from
Senate should be elected to represent Senate in Council. He also stated
the procedures for voting, and members unanimously decided that the
vote should be by secret ballot.
Six (6) members were nominated for the positions out of which four (4)
were elected. They are;
• Professor Gray Ejikeme, Department of Sociology
• Professor Lami Lombin, Dean of Veterinary Medicine
• Professor Tor Iorapuu, Dean of Arts
• Professor Simon Yiltok, Dean of Medical Sciences.
Senate also elected Professor Dimis Mailafiya of the Department of
Economics as its representative to serve on the Governing Council of the
Jos University Teaching Hospital (JUTH) alongside two others nominated
from the University of Jos.
Professor Lami Lombin spoke on behalf of those elected and said that
they were highly honoured for being entrusted with the responsibility
vested in them and assured Senate Members that they would work to
make a difference for the betterment of the system.
posted on 15 May 17 @ 16:39 back to news